Town Response to COVID-19

Click here to find up to date information related to the Town's response to COVID-19

 > Home Page > Government > Council > Council Appointed Committees and Groups > Committee of Adjustment

Committee of Adjustment


The Committee of Adjustment is a quasi-judicial body that is required to adhere to the provisions outlined in the Planning Act.

Composition Composition shall be a minimum of 5 members.

The Committee of Adjustment is established to consider and make decisions on applications from property owners or agents on for the following:

  • Minor Variances from the provisions of the Zoning By-law;
  • Extensions, enlargements or variations of existing legal non-conforming uses under the Zoning By-law;
  • Land Division (severing a new lot from an existing lot, adding land to an existing lot, easements, mortgages or leases in excess of 21 years); and
  • Determine whether a particular use conforms with the provisions of the Zoning By-law where the uses of land, building or structures permitted in the by-law are defined in general terms.
Terms of Reference To view the Committee's Terms of Reference, please click here.
Meeting Frequencies

 2020 Committee of Adjustment Meeting Schedule 

The Committee of Adjustment meets on the last Wednesday of every month. The deadline for submitting applications is 30 days prior to the scheduled meeting. The 2020 Committee of Adjustment schedule outlines specific dates for submission and sign posting. Meetings will take place the last Wednesday of the month, with regular meetings taking place at 7 p.m. between the following months:

  • January to November 

No meetings are to be held in the following month: 

  • December

NOTE: If no applications are received for a hearing the scheduled meeting will be cancelled by the Secretary Treasurer.

Agendas and Minutes To view the Committee's Agendas and Minutes, please click here.
Staff Liaison Antonio Greco, Secretary-Treasurer
Contact Email:
Committee Members

John La Chapelle
Brian McDonald
Michael Mendes
Jacqueline C. Rueping
Jennifer Smalley-Higgs
Jane Stevenson